Acharya unanimously elected IPPAN chair

KATHMANDU: Krishna Prasad Acharya has been unanimously elected as the chairperson of the Independent Power Producers Association- Nepal (IPPAN). A meeting of IPPAN held late on Sunday evening unanimously elected Acharya as the chairperson.
There is a consensus in the name of Acharya in IPPAN between the Left and the Democratic panel to select the leadership through elections.
Acharya, Founder Chairman of Bindwasini Hydro Power Company Limited, has 48.8 MW Khimti-2 (Dolakha), 20 MW Langtangkhola (Rasuwa) under construction and Modi Khola-1 in commercial production.
Acharya was also a Member of Parliament on behalf of industrialists and businessmen in the Interim Parliament formed after 2007.
Earlier, the working committee of IPAN had 9 members but the constitution has been amended to 16 members.
Ashish Garg, Ganesh Karki and Mohan Dangi were elected as the three vice-chair of the committee respectively.
Similarly, Gore Sherpa has been elected as general secretary, Bharat Khatri, Balram Khatiwada and Ram Acharya as secretaries and Ananda Chaudhary as treasurer.
Prakash Dulal, Bharat Khadka, Bharat Lamichhane and Uttam Blon have been unanimously selected as the members of the working committee while Avigya Malla and Kavita Kandel have been unanimously selected as the women members. The remaining two members will be nominated by the working committee later.
Similarly, IPAN is going to restructure the organization according to the federal structure for the first time. Now, IPPAN’s provincial committee will be formed in each province.

Fiscal Nepal |
Monday August 17, 2020, 10:18:32 AM |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *